Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 03-18-2011, 10:18 AM   #1  

Default fitness trainer on board!

Hi all! I stumbled upon this site and I just know I'm going to learn a lot here.

A little background: I am almost 41, female, 4 kids, divorced. I live in VERY Northern Wisconsin. Small town. I have a degree in physical education from Purdue U. I taught gym for 5 years before I had my kids. I'm ready to get back to teaching but there are no job openings, so I picked up a job at the local YMCA as a fitness coach a couple years ago.

I have never been over weight. In fact, I had the opposite problem. Too skinny -which is what led me to my profession! I started lifting weights to gain weight and now I love every minute of physical activity.

So why am I here? I have been under pressure at work to get certified in personal training. Right now I lead fitness classes similar to P90X or Insanity and the Y wants me to do 1 on 1 training, too. I don't really think I'd be good at it. Why not? Because I simply don't fully understand all the issues that lead to weight gain.

So I joined here to be able to give and receive help! I can give solid tips (although I don't think I'd be needed because all the info I've read on here so far is thorough and correct) and I want to understand every issue affecting weight loss (a term I hate. I prefer to call it lifestyle change) so I can be more empathetic, understanding, be able to predict set backs and so on.

Thanks in advance!
fitness4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 01:43 PM   #2  
Choose your hard

S/C/G: Stuck/Working on it/Good 2 Go

Height: Fun Size

Hi Fitness and welcome to 3FC!

We are in the process of buying a house in the northwoods, tho maybe not as far north as you are.

Regarding your questions - anyone of us here could tell you the many reasons we have gained weight - less active, emotional issues, injuries and set backs, stress eating - the list goes on and one.