Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 10-25-2010, 12:52 AM   #1  
Lena

S/C/G: 250/230/165

Height: 5'8"

Default How to get over nervousness?

So, lurking around this forum has convinced me that I need to start weight training ASAP--but. I'm a college student. The weight room is tiny and filled with big bulky guys lifting heavy things, and at least when I'm doing cardio I can stare out the window and not look at anyone. I'm being silly and flaily, but does anyone have any tips for how to get over this? I can't be the only one who feels/will have felt this way.
sobocin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 01:02 AM   #2  
Sarah

S/C/G: 193/184.5/147

Height: 5'7

I feel the exact same way - and although I'm not in college my gym is - so it's the exact same scenario.. Still haven't plucked up the courage.. Don't want the teenage boys gawking at me and scoffing at how I'm doing it wrong or whatever..
CardboardCutoutCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 07:36 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 229/220/170

Height: 6'0'

Brown, that is awesome! It really made me smile
I listen to my mp3 player while I lift and no one gives me a second glance.
chickybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 08:32 AM   #4  
Kallos Sthenos

S/C/G: 188/127/120

Height: 5'3''

Lena: I feel your pain. Seriously. I went to school at Ohio State. I made an attempt to try this when I was in my early twenties but it was just way too intimidating for me and I shelved it for another 15 years. Please. Don't. Do that! The benefits of lifting are so expansive that nothing and no one should prevent you from having this for yourself.

And trust me, what you are feeling is not unusual. I still feel this way when I'm in a new gym. Heck, I'm going through it right now and I have been lifting for five years and have two personal training certifications. It's all about the culture of the gym and how you feel you meld into it.

He's what helps me as I acclimate: