Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 12-14-2008, 01:51 AM   #1  
Starting over

S/C/G: 257.8/242.4/135

Height: 5' 5"

Default The First Step: Saying Hi!

Hi!

I'm really nervous--silly, isn't it? But posting here means something to me--it means I am finally going to do something about my weight. Perhaps not right away, not tomorrow--but I'm taking this baby step tonight and saying: enough.

I am currently 229 lbs, if 1) the scale is accurate and 2) I've read the numbers right. I've actually asked for a new scale with BIG numbers on it for Christmas. As I told the husband--if I lose a pound, I want to know!

This month I gained about 30 lbs--I quit smoking!! (Yay me.) But, I've replaced those cigs with chocolates, crackers, pretzels and whatever else I can scrounge. I have never done this before--prowl the house for food--eat past feeling full--crave, crave, crave chocolate. I've been indulging myself because I've been easing the pain of nicotine withdrawal--but this is NOT a healthy path and I need to get off it soon!

When I smoked, I maintained my weight at about 200 lbs for the last seven years or so--but I've been overweight for about 12. So, I have been "needing" to do something for a long time.

I am a planner and a thinker. Currently I'm reading Ultrametabolism by Mark Hyman and learning a lot! I've just finished reading Martha Beck, "The Four Day Win" and in the past I've read lots of Dr. Weil and Bob's plan (the guy from Oprah--Fit for Life I think it's called?)

I've been down this road only once before: I followed the 80's Weight Watcher portion plan on my own when I was in my twenties. I lost 70 lbs at that time--and kept it off for ten years. Back then I had even become an Aerobics Instructor--that seems like another life.

So, I know it can be done, and I know the work it takes. I am so glad I've found this forum: I'm going to need your help, for sure.