Old 01-26-2012, 06:12 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 269.2/269.2/135

Height: 5'5"

Question Thinking about joining WW.

I've contemplated joining WW for awhile now, and I finally think it's time to stop making up excuses and go for it. However, before I join - which I've never done WW before - I had a couple of questions.

My most main concern is if you, someone whose participated in WW, feel like it's worth it to join the program and spend the money on.

Also, which do you prefer - meetings or online? What is the difference between the two aside from in person support with meetings.

What do you get when you join - what kind of materials are provided? Are there extra materials you think I should invest in? If you do the online program, what materials are you provided with and what materials should you get that are extra?

I've already started making changes in my diet in preparation for this and my biggest concern is feeling like it's a waste of money, I definitely don't want to spend money every month on a program if it truly isn't worth it. I understand that it's all about me and how I follow the program and I've worked myself up enough to say I can do it and it's time!
palmettostar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:47 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 232/153/135

Height: 5'3"

I think it depends on what you mean by "worth it".

If by that you mean "I couldn't do this on my own/this is unique and I couldn't get it anywhere else for free", then no, it is not worth it. Because WW is not very unique, and you can certainly track online with free trackers (granted, perhaps not POINTS, but you can enter stuff on a tracker and it will track calories for you) and self-help books. There are also less expensive groups like TOPS. Or, for the psychological/accountability side of things, totally free programs like OA.

If by that you mean "this might be a valuable tool for me as part of my weight loss program", then it might be worth it.