Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 01-20-2006, 12:45 AM   #1  

Default In need of some motivation

All right, as happens every few weeks, it seems, my motivatin is beginning to wane. Here's my story, for those of you who are unfamiliar with me (I'm still a newbie):

I'm 5'10 1/2", 143 pounds. I have been a member of a gym since the middle of November, and have been working out fairly religiously since then (around 4 days a week, 30 minutes cardio, 30 minutes weights), except for a couple weeks (not consecutive) when I was sick. Anyway, I am in a "healthy weight range" but have so much fat! My abs and thighs are particularly bad. Anyway, I'm hoping to be able to build up my muscle and lose the fat, to become toned. I'm not worried about getting too "big," because I know it's not gonna happen, with me being a woman, and besides, I think very muscular bodies are sexy for women to have. Anyway, up until a couple weeks ago, I wasn't really watching what I was eating. I wasn't losing any weight, even with all the working out, and wasn't noticing that I was losing fat, either. I was only getting bigger from the muscle I was building. So the past couple weeks, I've been watching my calorie intake. I found something online that said that for my age, sex, etc., I would need 2100 calories to maintain my weight. Well, since I want to burn the fat that is there, I decided that a diet of 1500 calories (approx.) a day would help me lose the fat, and keeping up with my weight lifting would keep me from losing a lot of muscle in the process.

Okay, so I know it's only been a couple weeks, but everything I've read says that if you cut calories by 500 each day, you should lose 1 pound a week. So shouldn't I have lost at least 2 pounds by now? When I started, my weight was 143.6, and when I weighed this morning, it was 143.