Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Closed Thread

Old 07-30-2002, 02:13 PM   #1  

Question Food Questions

I'm new to the program and in the process of tweaking my diet to fit BFL. I tend to avoid gluten and am planning on eating Ezekiel bread instead of whole wheat bread. I figured since it is sprouted grain with no refined junk in it, it would be compatible with the eating plan. Is that a correct assumption?

Also, I like to take a teaspoon of psyllium once a day in about a 1/2 cup of rice milk (it keeps my plumbing happy) - I'm concerned that the rice milk may have too much sugar in it (rice syrup is the sweetner), but I am not sure how much would be too much. I don't have the box with me at the moment to give numbers. Any thoughts?
Old 07-30-2002, 02:37 PM   #2  
Uber-Moderator!!

Hi there and welcome to 3FC!

I'm probably the wrong person to ask since I avoid bread and pretty much all flour products except on Free Day. For me, bread is most definitely a 'red light' food - I can't stop at just one serving, and what's more it doesn't satisfy me the way that, say, oatmeal, brown rice, or yams (more filling carbs) do. In addition, most bread has some form of sugar in it - which can tend to make you hungrier and crave more and more. Doesn't matter if it's honey, turbiano sugar, fructose - to your body it's all sugar.

I WOULD recommend that if you choose to have whole-grain bread in your diet on BFL - that you use it no more than, say, once a day at most.

If you're trying to avoid gluten - check the list in the book - there are plenty of carbs that are wheat free - not only the ones mentioned above but white potatoes, barley, beans, fruit, pumpkin, corn...