Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 05-25-2012, 07:02 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 290/286/180

Height: 5'11"

Default Starting out and starving (long)

Hello all,

I just began my serious weight-loss adventure 19 days ago. I am a student in a field where I see people every day suffering from the effects of poor health choices, and I decided that I do not want to follow in their footsteps.

I want to work with an RD, but unfortunately there are none in my area covered by my insurance. Therefore, I am kinda making this up as I go along and trying to be as well-informed as possible.

I have started to track my calories daily with the LoseIt app, and I have purchased and started walking on a treadmill about 45 minutes/day at 3 mph. My food choices have changed - much more whole grains, much more vegetables, and more fruit (I already ate a lot of fruit), much less processed stuff, and zero eating out.

However, my LoseIt calorie allowance that was calculated for me seems really high, like 2,600. But even with all that, I find that I am hungry All. The. Time. In fact, I feel like I am often hungrier after eating than I was before! (Especially apples - I love apples but they make me hungrier!) I find this really frustrating and kind of depressing. And I often feel as if I need to eat more, since I pretty regularly feel light-headed, especially after breakfast. I try to eat a lot of protein to fill me up, or water-laden foods like watermelon and salad and grapes, but even then, I am only temporarily full, for maybe 30 minutes maximum. Then, my stomach starts growling or sitting on the edge of growling, so it feels like true hunger.

Basically I am at the point of wanting to eat more, because I'm hungry, but not wanting to eat more because I don't want to go over my calorie limit. It's frustrating and I don't really know what to do - does anyone have suggestions for really filling foods or anything?