UK Fat Chicks Meet dieters in your area, discuss weight and food issues unique to the UK.

Old 03-01-2013, 07:42 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 129/127.5/112

Height: 5'0.5" (It matters!)

Default Healthy Packed Lunch Ideas

Hi guys

I'm a poor student who is in uni about 9 to 5 everyday. I'm good at eating a healthy breakfast and dinner... but lunch and snacks are my major downfall!! Not only do I think they're to blame for my increase in weight, but I also can't afford to keep buying lunch out everyday! As well as this at about 11am I begin to get tummy grumbles and end up running to the vending machine for a snickers to attempt to shut it up!

So I'm looking for any packed lunch and snack ideas if you have them please. I have to admit... salads just don't do it for me. They fill me for about an hour and then I'm starving again. Are sandwiches so bad? If not, what kind of fillings would you suggest? I heard recently of someone who had lost a ridiculous amount of weight by not eating carbs for their evening meal. Do you think I could get away with a wholemeal sandwich at lunch if i had no carbs at dinner? Or maybe even both?
cantgetenoughchoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:05 PM   #2  
Starting Over Again

S/C/G: 195/195/150

Height: 5'5"

I'm not from the UK, but I have suggestions. I'm simply not sure what brands you have in the UK. I work 7-3 each day, so I understand the need to pack a lunch and snacks. Make sure you invest in a well-insulated lunchbox and an ice pack if you do not have a refrigerator around.

You can make sandwiches, just look for low-calorie whole-grain breads. Buy turkey or chicken breast if you want lunch meat. Microwaveable veggie burgers are great as well. I would suggest putting any condiments on the side so the bread doesn't get soggy.

You can also look for broth-based soups (watch the sodium) and microwavable dinners. Make sure any microwavable dinners include veggies and enough calories for a filling meal (300-400).