Looking Good, Feeling Great Plus to Petite Shopping, the Home Spa, and Beauty Tips for Beautiful Chicks

Old 05-16-2010, 06:56 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 145/160/120

Height: 5'6

Default Alternatives to shaving?

I find that when I shave my underarms they become really sensitive and pretty uncomfortable and red. I've tried lots of different shaving gels (Tried conditioner as well) and razors, but to no avail. Hair removal creams irritate my skin too, so that's not an option, and when I've tried the wax strips before they haven't really removed the hair very well.

I've considered maybe professional waxing, but I'm a student so not sure about the cost, and wondering if it might irritate my skin too?

Any suggestions for alternatives would be appreciated, or experience with professional waxing
serendipity907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 07:43 AM   #2  

S/C/G: HW:300 Pregnancy: 160/167/185

Height: 5'5"

Have you tried switching deodorants? I get the same thing, but I've found the problem is in harsh deodorants and that shaving exacerbates them. For me, the Dove Sensitive Skin seems to work pretty well: I also don't layer it on--I use enough, but I don't put on another 5 layers "just to be sure".
Shmead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 02:40 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 160/130/110

Height: 5'4"

I suggest epilators and/or plucking (especially if you don't have a lot of hair there). I've also recently bought Smooth Away, but I think the skin there is too sensitive for that much rubbing.
AllisonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 07:03 PM   #4  
I like ponies... and you?

S/C/G: 220/ticker/140

Height: 5'9"

I have the same problem... and I'm probably going to be going with the professional waxing. I'll be doing my legs once... and then going with this until I can gather up enough money for laser hair removal.