Looking Good, Feeling Great Plus to Petite Shopping, the Home Spa, and Beauty Tips for Beautiful Chicks

Old 06-28-2007, 12:01 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 349/ticker/150

Height: 5'6

Default Bra fitting advice from a Bra Fitter!!

I saw a bra fitting thread wondering if it was worth the time, so of course I had to get on my soapbox. This is my first post in the forums, imagine that! LOL.

As someone who is a certified bra fitter by trade I say yes it is absolutely essential to get fitted when buying bras. The life of a bra is only 3-6 months depending on how many you have and how often you are rotating them! Generally you should have four. One on your body, two in the drawer, one in the wash, and rotate. After that period of time the elasticity gives out and it's not doing anything for you other than just making a pretty (and in most cases expensive) boobie cover.

Really you should get fit every time you buy bras because as your weight fluctuates, so will your bra size. A loss of ten pounds or so can change and entire cup size in most cases. The band size goes a little slower because the weight around is harder to lose.

YOUR BAND GIVES YOU 90% OF YOUR SUPPORT LADIES SO DONT WEAR IT TOO BIG. When most women try on bras and they fit tightly, the first thing they do is go for a bigger band. PLEASE STOP!!! Instead go up a cup. A bigger cup gives you a little more wiggle room in the band so don't worry! If your band is too big, you are getting no support. You should be able to run two fingers underneath the band without it shifting. It is supposed to be snug.

Bra's are made for utility, not comfort. They are made to distribute the weight of your breasts evenly so that it is less of a burden on your back. You will feel it for awhile, I'm sorry those of you who want to feel like your bra doesnt exist! You should really go as small as possible in the band to get the maximum support without it restricting oxygen or anything vital