Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Closed Thread

Old 06-02-2004, 05:10 AM   #1  

Talking Newbie here :-)

Hmmm...where do I begin? First I would like to say hello to everyone! I heard about this site a couple of months ago but never thought of joining. I was sort of embarrassed in a way but since browsing and seeing how you ladies (and gents) are so free with your dreams, weight loss goals and plastering your weight throughout your posts, I thought, "Why not?" So, here I am!

I'm a 20 year old married Californian (who just came back from Ohio a few days ago after a year of living there) who is a nursing student. Despite my cheery attitude, I am very down and out about my weight, to put is shortly, I'm a fat cow. I weigh a hefty 250ish pounds at 5ft 7in. I wish I could tell you I'm happy no matter what I weigh but that would be a complete lie. The fact of the matter is, I am very insecure and self conscious about myself and have been this way since I was in 7th grade.

Back in 2001, I weighed 222 and lost 45-50 pounds. I was so happy and I looked great. Yet in that time, I have met my husband and started eating like him. He's 6'0 and weighs 180 which is average and eats anything he desires and never gains a pound. Me on the other hand has gained around 70 pounds. This MUST stop and I hope I can count on you ladies to give me the support I need. Even though my mother sympathizes (I live with her now until I finish college), she can hardly relate with her being 5ft 5in and weighing a very slim 116 and has a size 26 in waist.

Sorry if I am going on and on but I'm just excited about my journey. I don't look at it as another journey but a final journey to healthy living and happiness. I don't want to end up with diabetes or other disease that run in my family. I won't allow it.