Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Closed Thread

Old 02-16-2004, 06:37 PM   #1  
Geeky and loving it

Default New start

Hi, all, I'm new here. My name's Julie, and I'm actually on my first official diet after being chunky for most of my adolescent and young-adult life. For a long time, I dealt with serious depression and anxiety disorder, and those really messed with my eating habits, and the drugs I later took to heal myself only made me gain more weight.
Things got worse earlier in the year. I'm a poor college student, and for a while, I was out of work due to a semi-seasonal job. While living between paychecks, I was stuck eating pancakes and ramen most days, and that messed my metabolism up even further. When I went to the doctor two weeks ago to get a refill on my prescriptions, she took a look at me, at my tummy (where all the weight goes), asked about my general health lately, and sent me in for a blood test. Following her prediction, my insulin production was way too high and I was ruled hyperglycemic.
The doctor pointed me to SugarBusters, which I snagged ASAP and took with me as I went grocery shopping. I'm eating only whole wheat now and much less carbs and more protien (getting paycheck and stocking my apartment with good stuff helps lots), and I'm feeling much, much better in general.
I'm currently 5'5" and 190lb- 5 pounds less than when I first stepped on the doctor's scale about a week and a half ago.