Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 05-30-2016, 04:36 PM   #1  

Default *waves a tentative hello

Hello all
I'm hoping that joining this support group will help motivate me into gaining some focus. I've been trying to lose weight (although 'trying' is probably an exaggeration) for the last year and weigh more now than I did then.
This is after a lifetime of similar behaviour.
I weigh myself every Monday night. I know that I have struggled this week, but am still reeling in shock after an 11lbs gain. In one week!
I need help. I have a lot of psychological issues around food, stemming from childhood, and I use food as a reward and emotional support.
Sigh. I'm an educated professional in a senior leadership position- so why can't I control something as simple as how much food I cram in my mouth?
Hopefully by giving advice and support I can also start listening to myself, and practise what I preach!
😀
Stargirls1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 12:06 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 297/276/175

Height: 6'0"

I understand where you are. My relationship with food has always been toxic and unhealthy. If I felt down, I ate. If I went out with friends, I ate. And it was always a lot. I had always been told I was a big girl and wasn't sure how to live any differently.

My whole life I've always been a little bit overweight and I've slowly started realizing, I'm afraid to lose weight because I've never seen myself skinny. I know that sounds odd but I'm a person who doesn't like change. I've also feared that maybe if I lose the weight, I'll change and become someone that no one likes.

It's almost like my mind just makes up excuses for me to eat and this time around dieting, I'm doing my best to not let my brain win. We can all do this but it sure isn't easy!
JaimeLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 08:14 PM   #3  

Height: 5'8.5"