Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 02-07-2012, 02:20 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 255/247/150

Default Hello everyone!

Hi everyone! I am Marie and this is my first time posting on this forum. I am hoping that by having others who are struggling with their weight, or those who have, can help me to stay inspired in my weight loss journey.

A little about me:
As a child I was tall and thin, and never had any weight issue. I have struggled in some form with my weight since I was about 11 or 12. At that age (around when I hit puberty), is when I first noticed there was a problem. I was not skinny like most of the other girls my age, but not was not overweight. I just was self-conscious because I was not "skinny" like my friends. I had always been very athletic and involved in sports, so I think that contributed to me staying fit. I never dieted or tried to be super health conscience, but stayed very active. This continued through my teens. My weight hovered between 140-150 lbs. and I am 5'6.

I had my first child at 19. When I was pregnant with her, I gained about 120 lbs.! I was completely floored at how much weight I was gaining during my pregnancy! In retrospect, I attribute it to the fact that I was not trying to be weight conscience. I ate whatever I wanted because I had always lived that way. As I put the weight on, I became less and less active. Vicious cycle. After my daughter was born, I really made it a point to lose the weight. I ate healthy and began working out at a gym. I lost almost 100 lbs. by the time she was a year old.