Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 01-05-2011, 06:06 PM   #1  
Cruisin' for a Losin'

S/C/G: 278/249/170

Height: 5'9"

Lightbulb teaching by example

Sometimes starting over is even harder the second..or third..or fourth time.

Some basics on me

I am 28, I teach elementary school, I am single, I have a master's degree, I have great friends, and am in need of losing weight.

I have been here before, both at 3FC and the weight-loss game in general. Sometimes with success...sometimes less so...but I guess the point is that I keep trying.

I am 5'9" (5'10" if I am standing particularly straight) and everyone tells me that really helps "hide my weight." But let’s be honest....hiding 250 lbs is like hiding the proverbial elephant...or in this case the actual elephant.

I first struggled with my weight when I was 8 years old and a few boys pointed out that I was "fat." I distinctly remember my mother looking at me as I cried and telling me that I was exactly what I was supposed to be and that was beautiful...even at 8 I remember thinking she was full of crap. It wasn't that she didn't (doesn't) love me..she just didn't want to lie or tell an 8 year old she was fat...who can blame her? My entire immediate family is heavy and well.. that was just seen as normal.

Growing up was hard...some chubby kids are well adjusted (I was not one of them) and had few friends. I was all things the movies portray. The fat kid that was called names, picked last for teams, embarrassed to eat in front of my peers, set up for practical jokes...I had my few close friends (several who are still important in my life 20 years later.) I hated my weight and really could not figure out what to do about it.