Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 07-26-2008, 10:49 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 227/227/150

Height: 5'10"

Default Hi, I'm new here.

Hello, I'm 35 and overweight. I'm 5'10" and 227 pounds. This is my highest weight ever and I'm basically miserable about it. I've been quite sedentary, apart from working once or twice a week, for over a year. I used to be much more active (running, aerobics, speed walking) but I've been in a slump and a rut. I spend a lot of time on the Internet and eat a lot of fast food. The sedentary lifestyle and too many calories have put me in this state and I need to end these destructive habits.

I know a lot about exercise and nutrition. I've been overweight on and off since I was a teenager. I'm a nurse and work in recovery and wellness in the cardiac field. I know what I *need* to do but I don't do it. I know I need to be a good example for my patients that are trying to lose weight and improve their cardiovascular health. I have no excuses. I'm in good health (excpet for being overweight) and have no limitations. I have a lot of free time, I have easy access to exercise equipment at work, home, and at the gym. There is no reason why I can't make an effort to lose, but I just haven't. I'm lazy. I give a very half-hearted effort, or none at all.

I eat out a lot. This is crazy because I like to cook and I'm not a picky eater. I love fresh food, fruits, and veg, but I've been in a lazy rut where I'll just cook two or three nights a week. One of my goals is to make dinner at home the majority of time and bring my lunch to work.

I've been working with a personal trainer twice a week for the last four months. I feel much better physically and I feel like I have more muscle tone, but I have not lost one ounce. Actually, I have gained. I don't do enough cardio and I eat too much.