Old 07-09-2009, 12:40 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 320/*ticker*/145

Height: 5'6"

Default Did I make a big mistake with my calories?

Ok, so I'm just starting out, I'm only about 2 weeks into this and I don't really know what I'm doing. At 314 lbs, I started by calorie goal at 2000 calories. My calories do vary, a couple days over, most are under, with an average of 1,675. That's not the major problem though.

According to http://www.freedieting.com/tools/cal...alculator.htm#, my calorie goal is supposed to be 2,408??!? What the??? Are you kidding me? Should I trust this? I mean, it just doesn't sound right at all. If it is though, I am WAY off.

How do I fix this without gaining a bunch of weight? If I 'up' my calories, is there anything I should expect, weight-wise, so I don't freak out if I gain a couple lbs in the process. How much do you usually gain at first, if at all? I'd really appreciate some advice to set my mind at ease.

Also, what's the best way to up your calories? Just have a cheat day? Add more food for every day? I've read about cooking with olive oil and eating almonds, but that's only like 200-400 calories right there. And supposedly I need to add about 800.
sakurasky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 12:45 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 310/240/180

Height: 5'5"

sakurasky

I'm right there with you. This calorie thing is crazy. I'm so confused about calories too. I've never been a big eater and I've been counting everything and 2000 calories seems so unattainable. I would literally have to eat all day, and I feel like I already am. Adding breakfast for me is a whole new ball game. I've scoured the forum and noticed most people seem to eat anywhere from 1400-1600 calories. I also noticed several of them were impacted by their doctor to pick that amount. So I'm going to follow your thread too...and see what other's say
aphimira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 12:48 AM   #3  
~jus' being me~