Chicks in Control Overeating? Binging? Share uplifting support and gain control!

Old 03-16-2010, 02:33 AM   #1  

Default Hi

Hi, first of all, I look forward to meeting all of you!

This is my story.

About a year and a half ago, I became very concerned about my weight and began my extreme diet and an exercise routine which i adhered to for at least 6 days a week. I began losing weight quickly, and to my satisfaction I was able to lose 35 pounds over a few months.

Later, people started noticing my dieting/exercising behaviors, and I met symptoms for eating disorder not otherwise specified. At first I was not particularly concerned, and I think I enjoyed being on the skinny side. However, as I started learning more about eating disorders I realized that my health was deteriorating in many ways, and I started allowing myself some treats to gain a few pounds.

Unfortunately, at that point there were also many stressors in my life, and I have always been a stress-induced binger my entire life. Over a period of 2 months, I gained 20 pounds through indulging in sweets, stuffing myself at buffets... Later, I started controlling my behaviors but I simply lacked the motivation to do so. I stopped dieting and stopped exercising. While my rate of weight gain did slow down slightly, it wasn't long until I found myself weighing more than my pre-diet weight. Eventually, I was able to stop gaining weight, but I was not able to go back to the routine that I had before and thus my weight maintained at the current level.