General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Closed Thread

Old 04-28-2002, 02:52 PM   #1  

Default Weight Watchers Effective?

Hey Everyone, I am a college student and was considering trying weight watchers when I go home this summer. Can anyone give my some feedback on how they think the program is? What are some key ideas it follows? How effective is it? How much weight do they aim to have you lose a week? Any information would be greatly appreciated. I love hearing success stories, but I would like to know if it's going to be worth the money!
Old 04-28-2002, 04:04 PM   #2  

Hi! I have been on WW since 28 Jan and have lost 25 lbs. I enjoy it because I don't like diets that eliminate certain foods or feel deprived (I don't like being told what I should eat - must be the rebel in me!). I like the fact I can eat pizza or whatever I want, in moderation, of course...I also save a couple of "points" for my favorite mini mounds bar (yum!).

I find the program pretty simple to follow with the points - a lot less math than counting calories. I also use a lot of the recipes under the WW recipe sectoin and find that the whole family eats better since I cook more.

I truly feel it is the closest thing to eating "normally" than anything else. I went to visit family and while my portion sizes were less than everyone's else's, I still ate frid chicken, mashed potatoes, etc. I just "spend" my points on what I really enjoy and not waste them on something a "diet" tells me I have to eat.

Best of luck to you in whatever you pick...just make sure it is something YOU can live with and fits your lifestyle.

Kittyhawk
Alaska
206/180/150
Old 04-29-2002, 10:17 PM   #3  
Heading for the Beach!