Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 03-22-2011, 11:12 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 250/169/140

Height: 5 ft 8 inches

Default When does the water retention go?

I started lifting three weeks ago for about 30 minutes three times per week. I'm not lifting heavy yet, because I'm not strong enough. I'm currently on about 18lb maximum (for things like squats) and less for other body parts. My workout consists of squats, lunges, push-ups, bicep curls, hammer curls, tricep kickbacks, lateral raises, shoulder press, back rows, reverse crunches.

The scale has shot up by 2.5 lb and I'm wondering when it's likely to go? I know it's water retention in my muscles, but it's so disheartening to see a higher number on the scale. I am only lifting to maintain my muscle mass at the moment, not to build more. I'm still at a deficit and I'm doing cardio six days a week as well.

Does anyone know how long it will take for the water retention to go? Will I start showing weight loss again, soon?
Autumn Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 11:16 AM   #2  
Kallos Sthenos

S/C/G: 188/127/120

Height: 5'3''

Hi Autumn

Did the scale weight increase the day after your full body workout and this is the only change in your routine including the type of food you took in?

I only ask this because there are a lot of reasons why you may be retaining water. Because of this I really can't say when the retention will drop. However, if it is due to lifting you may notice a slight increase the day after a really demanding workout (one in which you feel DOMS, delayed onset of muscle soreness, or it hurts so bad I can't squat to use the bathroom) That kind of sore will often lead to some retention.

Usually, I do retain water after leg day. It's just a given especially if its a new routine. However, keep in mind there are other reasons for water retention:

High sodium content in meals
Higher carb intake the previous day or two