PCOS/Insulin Resistance Support Support for us with any of the following: Insulin Resistance, Syndrome X, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, or other endocrine disorders.

Closed Thread

Old 10-02-2002, 09:25 PM   #1  

Default Can we take a PCOS poll for everyone here? Please?!

I am a newbie and I'm glad to see this here! I thought I'd ask a poll here. Please answer if you would.

1)What is your age and when were you diagnosed?
2)What are your symptoms?
3)What meds are you taking, doses and for what symptoms?
4)Have you lost a significant amount of weight and seen any changes in your symptoms?

I'll start.

1)I started being treated for this in May 2002. I am 23 years old.
2)Hirutism, funky weight gain, irregular periods, acanthosis nigricans and other skin problems, high testosterone.
3)Spironolactone (aldactone) for the hirutism, Lotrisone lotion for skin problems, Decadron (Dexamethasone) for skin, just prescribed Glucophage (Metformin) yesterday, will start that this weekend. I was also prescribed Ortho-TriCyclen but I have not started. I don't want to unless totally necessary. I want to wait to see if the Glucophage helps with periods.

If there is anything else you'd like to add, that would be great. I just want to get an idea of how everyone's dealing and what you're taking.

CD
Old 10-03-2002, 07:45 AM   #2  
PCOS Educator (non prof)

1)What is your age and when were you diagnosed? Showed symptoms at age 8, diagnosed at age 12 after years of tests. Im 29 now.

2)What are your symptoms? Nearly every single one of them. I have severe PCOS.

3)What meds are you taking, doses and for what symptoms? GlucophageXR 2000mg. I FEEL GREAT! GlucXR TREATS PCOS as a WHOLE! WONDERFUL drug! Its helped with every thing I suffer from and helped my boobs straighten out to boot. Can ya tell Im excited about that one?