Old 01-17-2010, 03:21 PM   #1  

Wink New to the forum, not new to the lifestyle

Hello all!

I am a 22-yr old grad student that has given up on simply "trying to eat healthy" to go back to actually keeping track of my food intake. Over Christmas/New Year's I got to my heaviest ever. It's been difficult to find motivation to really keep track of points because I have never *looked* too badly with extra weight on. I'm the type that my friends would agree could lose weight, but they are all surprised when I tell them the number on the scale. I have always carried the extra weight well, and it doesn't help that my boyfriend seemed blissfully unaware of my weight until I set up a Wii Fit avatar (awkward!).

Nevertheless, I know I am not healthy, can't wear all the clothes I'd like to, and don't feel as well as I do when I'm in a good weight range. I am aiming to lose 50 pounds, and my doctor would agree that I could even lose a few more at my height.

So here I am! I last did Weight Watchers in high school with my mother, but I found that I could eat white bread and cookies and still lose weight each week. The last time I dieted, I did South Beach and felt great being forced to choose the better foods while losing even more weight. Now it's my goal to somewhat combine the two. As a grad student, my time is not my own. In addition to my regular academic classes, I teach two labs, attend conferences, do field work for weeks at a time, have weekly meetings/seminars, and conduct my own research. Some days I may be at my office from 8 am until 10 pm. I think combining South Beach foods with Weight Watchers' Points system will make it easiest to stick to a healthy eating plan in my situation.

I really enjoyed the last (SB) forum I was a part of! This is my first time on 3FC, so I'm hoping to meet some good people on here! Please let me know any advice you have.

~SSS12