Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 09-22-2004, 08:17 AM   #1  

Default Diet questions?

So ... I'm a newbie lifter who is slowly gaining musle, gained 4.4 pounds of lean body mass in my first three months, so the lbm is building up nicely BUT I do have some concerns:

I don't eat red meat. I don't eat chicken. I don't eat pork. Etc. I do eat fish.

I am conscious of my protein needs, and I have been eating:

2 serves of cheese daily
3 protein bars a week, after I lift
3 serves of fish a week

I have decided to try and incorporate fish daily if I can.

I eat a CRAP LOAD of fruit'n'veg, don't eat too much pasta and bread but do eat a little.

Any advice?
goeatanapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 08:35 AM   #2  
Aussie Chick

How can you tell you gained 4.4 pounds of muscle? Is there a test you can do for this? Id really like to know if i have gained any muscle in the past month but i wouldnt know, i can feel my sholders and upper arms are harder and a bit more bumpy though.
My gym has been measuring my body fat using those tanita like scales, but if keeps varying each week by 3% even though my weight is either the same or i have lost of gained no more then 500g between the past 3 weeks, so im not sure how accurate those scales are.
flutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 08:48 AM   #3  
Queen of Wishful Thinking

S/C/G: 230/216/150

Height: 5'6

Have you tried entering a day's worth of food into fitday to see how much protein you're getting? It's possible to get enough protein even on a vegetarian diet, but it takes a lot of careful planning. What you've described doesn't sound like enough protein, but it's hard to tell without more information.

Do you eat eggs/egg whites? Also, some whole grains will help "complete" the proteins you are getting in the veggies.
2sw33t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2004, 12:05 PM   #4  
Aussie Chick