Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 12-17-2010, 07:55 PM   #1  
Muscle Memory

S/C/G: 188/179/128

Height: 5'2"

Default Question On Form

I have been doing a weight lifting class for approximately two months. I started twice a week, then increased to three times a week. I started at really low weights and have increased weights over time, though I'm sure my weights are much, much lighter than what most of you work with.

I have noticed in the last week that my shoulder area and neck area are looking bulkier. I have read that it is hard for women to build muscle and to bulk up, so I know this shouldn't be happening. But I also remember hearing that if your form is off where shoulders are concerned, that it may be possible to develop a bulkier look to the shoulders and neck area. Though this look maybe desired/ok for some, it is not the look that I was hoping for.

I did this class several years ago, which is where I remember hearing the form advice, but the instructor that mentioned it is not there any more. I did not have the issue back then, so it seems something must be different this time around.

I can't remember what it was that I heard you need to be careful about in your form to avoid this look. (Not lowering the bar below the chin when doing overheads? Making sure you can see your elbows in your peripheral view? Both of which I am already paying attention to. Was it something else?)

I was just wondering if any of you know what I am talking about and/or know about the specific form recommendations to help prevent this.

I am really enjoying the lifting, and enjoying getting stronger and going up on my weights gradually over time. I just want to be able to continue that but still achieve a look I am comfortable with and make sure I am using proper form.

Thanks for any help with this if anyone has any ideas.
skygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 02:21 PM   #2  
Kallos Sthenos

S/C/G: 188/127/120