Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 06-04-2005, 04:21 PM   #1  

Default New Girl in Town Needs Advice

Hi.. I just joined the 3FC community. I've been anonymously reading posts for a while now and find this to be a supportive and kind group of people. I have never joined an online group, so I'm a big time newbie... I've always felt very alone in my struggle with my weight so I'm hoping that I can give and get decent honest support from people who know what it feels like.. Thanks in advance!

That brings me to my first question. I have a sister who is skinny (5'9" and size 8) and she always tells me how fat she is. I'm the same height, but my CW is 290, so its hard for me to "console" her and I never know what to say, so I always tell her "You are not fat.. Look at you, you look great!" or something like that, but it makes me feel bad about myself.. Does anyone else have this issue? If so, how do you handle it diplomatically?

Also, if she is not dieting, she tries to sabotage me. I know that I have to take responsibility for my own actions, but sometimes its just really hard when people put food that you love, but are trying to control, in front of you--especially when they don't know what it feels like to be the fat one in the family. I've cut down on hanging out with her, but I still see her at family events. Does anybody know any good techniques for dealing with this? I don't necessarily want to tell her off, but if there is something I can do for myself to resist and put a better light on this type of behavior?

Thanks!! I'm glad to be here..
AmyLouWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 04:35 PM   #2  
...toward a better me!

Have you told your sister how it makes you feel when she tells you that she's fat or puts your favorite foods in front of you when you're trying to lose? If she can't see that she's hurting you, then how sad for her and you are right to distance yourself.