Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 03-23-2017, 02:10 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 128/127/110

Height: 4'11"

Default Bizarre reasons for sudden fluid retention

I've been dieting for a couple of months now, and am weighing myself once a week. The numbers have been moving a bit more erratically than the other time I dieted, but hey, bodies vary, I wasn't worried. Yesterday I hopped on the scales and was a bit surprised to see that the number had gone up. I made a mental note that if I'm still gaining in a few weeks I'll rejig my diet, and then went back to trying to get on with my day. This became increasingly more difficult. I'd been feeling off for a few days, and suddenly got a lot worse, with all sorts of weird things including being barely able to walk or talk, strong tingling on the top of my head, shaking uncomfortably, and feeling that something was terribly wrong. I have home care workers as I have severe ME/CFS, so she called my partner home, my partner called an ambulance, and we spent the rest of the afternoon in A&E. Thankfully it wasn't a stroke, though they checked me carefully for that, and they reckon it was some sort of silent migraine. I've been having migraines for 24 years and never had one remotely like that - they're less weird, and they hurt a lot where this didn't hurt at all!