Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 01-04-2015, 04:06 PM   #1  

Default Please help me to help my sister

Hi All and Happy New Year

Apologies but I'm a newbie and already posted this elsewhere, sorry!

Possibly a bit of a strange situation here but I’d be very grateful for ANY advice that you can give me so I can help my sister please.

Long story short: After 19 years of various problems and a difficult lifestyle, my sister has gone from an hour glass figure to a size 34/36, weighing in at circa 25 stone, she is only 5’3” and has many other problems as a result of the weight gain.

She has been potentially accepted for a surgical band procedure – subject to a six month program - but I do not want her to do it as I’m scared she will not come through or, if she does, will abuse the procedure resulting in further problems because she sees it as the easy answer.

I was with her at the docs in November when they told her that she may not see out her 50s (she is 47) but that did not help in making changes. To be fair, the hospital, doctors, community support etc have tried to help but she has never made progress.

Until now:

She has finally agreed to spend EVERY day between 9am – 8pm for one month at my house to try and break the lifestyle rut and attempt to lose weight. She will eat all meals at mine and learn how to shop for the right ingredients and prepare them so that even if her husband does not want to involve himself, she will become knowledgeable and self-sufficient when it comes to food.

To be frank, I’m a bit scared at what I’ve taken on but she is so delighted to have a chance that I’ll do whatever it takes but I don’t want to make it too hard or put her off.