Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 03-18-2007, 09:58 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 244.5/238/160

Height: 5'7"

Default Breaking a pattern

I'm an elementary school music teacher, and tomorrow will be my first day back at school after spring break. One of my health/weight-loss challenges is that in the lounge at my school, there is ALWAYS food to eat. People sign up for a week to bring treats, and aside from the occasional fruit and veggie tray, they are not usually the healthiest choices. I often eat one treat when others are in there, then sneak multiple other servings when no one is around. I need to BREAK THE PATTERN of eating when I'm in there. My goal for tomorrow might sound small to some, but is HUGE for me: to not eat any "lounge food" (has kind of a disgusting ring to it, doesn't it?).

I can't avoid the lounge entirely, as that's where the mailboxes are, and that's where teachers hang out during breaks and lunch, and I don't want to isolate myself. I know I'll just have to tough it out, which, when I've tried it in the past, has really ticked me off and/or made me cry out of frustration. (Try crying secretly in the bathroom for two minutes and then heading back to the classroom to sing happy little songs with young kids.) I'm trying to come up with a short phrase to repeat mentally (while breathing deeply) to keep me from eating while in there; something like "happy, healthy, and powerful" comes to mind.

Any tips from those of you facing similar situations? Oh, and I also plan to report back in tomorrow night to say how it went - just a little accountability there.

Thanks!
irishharper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 10:08 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 152/140/130

Height: 5'5"

Hi IrishHarper.