Closed Thread

Old 07-28-2006, 09:40 PM   #1  

Default Vegetarian newby--need food advice

Hey everyone--im new to being a vegetarian and was wondering if anyone knew where i could find a list of everyday items that qualify for a vegetarian diet. I dont care for soy milk too much but im going to try and maybe do half soy and half 1% milk and then reduce the 1% milk. I heard that kelloggs poptarts are ok as long as they dont have frosting. These are the kinds of everyday foods I need to know about. I have been considering going vegetarian but realizing the treatment of animals it was just the push I needed. Kimberly
Old 07-30-2006, 02:41 PM   #2  

well what do you eat on a regular day?
Old 07-30-2006, 08:37 PM   #3  
Bewitchin' in the kitchen

this link may help you . . .

http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=121

Okay, here is a list:

Grains
Whole wheat breads
whole wheat pasta
oats
rye
brown rice
barley
millet

Legumes
soya beans
soy products
kidney beans
peas
lentils
bean sprouts
peanuts
chick peas

Nuts
sunflower seeds
sesame seeds
tahini
cashews
almonds
hazel nuts
coconuts
walnuts

Sources of iron
whole grain breads, flour and cereals
potatoes
green leafy vegetables(broccoli, spinach, kale)
Brussels sprouts
peppers(green, red, yellow)
prune juice
dried apricots and raisins.

And here is a link to some great vegetarian and vegan recipes:

http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=150

And here is some help with grocery shopping (includes store brands):

http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/showthread.php?t=90394
Old 07-30-2006, 11:19 PM   #4  

Default Run down--could it be lack of protein?