South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Closed Thread

Old 01-09-2006, 11:40 PM   #1  

Default cold medications on s.b. diet???

I am so miserable and would like to take alka-seltzer plus cold med but am afraid to because of possible sugars. I took a small sip and it tasted sweet. Here are the inactive ingredients listed: acesulfame potassium, aspartame, citric acid, flavors, magnesium stearate, maltodextrin, sodium bicarb and sorbitol. I'm no doctor - OK to take without screwing up my diet. I've done very, very well since last Tuesday. Awaiting verdict and thanks.....
Old 01-09-2006, 11:42 PM   #2  
jmuns79

Aspartame and the sorbitol are artificial sugars. Anything ending in -itol is an artificial sugar, I think. If those are allowed, go for it. It's all the fake stuff.
Old 01-10-2006, 12:09 AM   #3  

Thank you, thank you for answering so fast! Alka-seltzer plus here I come! This is a hard diet on colds - I'm used to taking Nyquill,too.
Old 01-10-2006, 04:13 AM   #4  
Come on Spring!

S/C/G: 232/170/150

Height: 5'0" on a tall day

The -ols are alcoho;l sugars and are OK on South Beach. However, they can cause digestive upset. The most important thing is to get better. You can always restart Phase I.
Old 01-10-2006, 07:49 AM   #5  
Who needs sleep?

I don't know if there is an official verdict on the SBD and meds with sugars in them, but I don't count them. I have allergies, asthma, and sinus problems - if I had to restart every time I had to take some meds, I'd never get off phase 1! If you end up taking something really sugary and find it gives you cravings, you can always redo ph1 then.
Old 01-10-2006, 10:08 AM   #6