Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 10-23-2013, 10:58 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 209/209/175

Height: 5'5"

Default Coumadin and dieting

Is anyone on Coumadin/Warfarin/Jantoven and trying to lose weight? I had open heart surgery in March to replace my Aortic Valve and now have to take Coumadin for life. One of the big issues with this drug is you need to stay away from foods with high to moderate levels of vitamin K. This translates into almost every green vegetable on the planet and a lot of other veggies as well. How are supposed to lose weight without eating green veggies!!!

Any help would be appreciated....
Melissa C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 01:40 PM   #2  
Living in the moment!

S/C/G: 252/242/150

Height: 5'3"

Hi! I am a nurse practitioner, and have several patients in your situation. Of course I can not offer medical advice, but I can give you a few suggestions. Call your local hospital. Most have a nutritionist/dietician on staff who can give dietary counseling (free at our hospital) one on one to people with challenges such as yours. I have sent many of my patients on anticoagulants or with other health issues to ours.

Kenda
Kendah72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 02:58 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 209/209/175

Height: 5'5"

Thank you I will!
Melissa C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 05:12 PM   #4  
Thursday Lady

I was on Coumadin for 6 months following DVTs in leg.
I was told I could eat high vitamin K foods in moderation, as long as I ate the same amount each day. This sounds strange but it worked.
Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:51 AM   #5  

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melissa C View Post