Closed Thread

Old 12-28-2005, 12:32 PM   #1  

Default Protein powder

I tend to drink a protein shake every morning, and then go exercise. My shake is 1 cup skim milk (Core), 1 tablespoon natural peanut butter (2 pts), 1 scoop unflavored soy protein (90 calories, 1 fat no fiber), and 1 scoop Spiru-tein (100 calories, 1/2 gram fat and 2 fiber). So if I'm doing this right...6 points?

How can unflavored soy protein NOT be Core? I'm a bit confused. There's no sugar, no flour...and natural peanut butter, too. How can THAT not be Core? Salt and peanuts, right? I was under the impression that Core is to get us away from processed foods and back to "the way things grow"...am I wrong?

Can you tell I'm new to this?
Old 12-28-2005, 01:27 PM   #2  
Vegan in Training

peanut butter isn't core.
Old 12-28-2005, 01:37 PM   #3  
Melissa

Mousie,
we are glad to have you. We all have lots of questions when starting core. Do you have the WW materials?
I am really not one to answer questions about protein powder, as I've only used it briefly in the past. I'm sure others would have better answers.
The only thing I can think to say is if you love them, and they don't seem to hinder your weight loss, is use the points for them?
The following isn't great advice, but it's the truth: some of us have incorporated things into core that aren't really core. So you could try doing core regularly, have your shake, and see if it gets in the way of losing weight. If so, then start counting the points for it. If not, you've just tweaked the plan to be personalized for you. Lots of people are against tweaking the WW plans, but sometimes it works better for some people.
Wow, that was a lot. I hope it makes sense. I'm sure someone else will come along and be more helpful.
Old 12-28-2005, 01:41 PM   #4  

I can only guess, but I'd say protein powder's not core because it is totally processed. It doesn't require your body to do any extra work to digest it.