Closed Thread

Old 09-30-2004, 04:47 PM   #1  
Cowboy Up Chick

Default OT - Anyone know anyone on Vioxx? Recall!

FYI I work in the medical field and we just got this in:

Merck (drug company) has voluntarily withdrawn rofecoxib (Vioxx) from the worldwide markets based upon an increase in strokes and MIs found in a colorectal cancer prevention study.
Old 09-30-2004, 05:55 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 178/see ticker/113

Height: 5'3

And I wonder how many people died before they took this off the shelf? I don't think drug companies do enough testing before they release their magic pills. Thanks for the info though, I don't know anyone taking it but I'll be on the lookout now.
Old 10-01-2004, 01:24 PM   #3  

My Doctor has been leary of Vioxx for a while for the same reasons cited in the recall notice. Actually - I have been helping him fight insurance companies (via the State Attorney General) almost endorsing the use of Vioxx by denial of coverage for alternate drugs. He and my insurance company went back and forth for quite a while over the Vioxx issue before he got fed up and gathered some of his patients to assist him in his fight against insurance companies not paying for the medication determined most appropriate by the Doctor. I hope this most recent recall helps his case. Paying full price for alternatives to Vioxx is pretty darned expensive.
Old 10-01-2004, 08:12 PM   #4  
Janette

This was all over the news yesterday.
Susie, I can't imagine an alternative to Vioxx being more expensive--it costs me $50 co-pay. That's why I stopped taking it. Too expensive and I didn't see that it worked all that well on me. Glad I didn't take it that long, however I did take the first bottle every day while I was being treated for my hip problem. The last bottle is still on the shelf-full.
Spryng, I think it is the FDA that is not protecting us. It seems they are pressured by the drug companies (according to the news reports) to rush through approval so they can make the money.