Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2003, 03:37 PM   #1  
Come on Spring!
Thread Starter
 
Ruthxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Delta, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 26,840

S/C/G: 232/170/150

Height: 5'0" on a tall day

Default Eclipse of the Moon Tonight

From NightSky Website:
The eclipse will actually begin when the Moon enters the faint outer portion, or penumbra, of the Earth's shadow more than an hour before it begins moving into the dark inner shadow, called the umbra. The penumbra, however, is all but invisible to the eye until the Moon becomes deeply immersed in it. Sharp-eyed viewers may get their first glimpse of the penumbra as a faint "smudge" on the left part of the Moon's disk at or around 23:09 GMT, which corresponds to 6:09 p.m. EST or 5:09 p.m. CST.

The most noticeable part of this eclipse will come when the Moon begins to enter the Earths umbra. A small scallop of darkness will begin to appear on the Moon's left edge at 23:32 GMT, or 6:32 p.m. EST, 5:32 p.m. CST.

The Moon is expected to take 3 hours and 33 minutes to completely pass through the umbra.

While much of the eastern and central portions of the U.S. and Canada will be able to see the Moon enter the umbra, those living to the west of a line running from roughly Corpus Christi, Texas to Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada will see the Moon rise already in eclipse. So for observers across the western-third of the United States and Canada, a peculiar crescent or notched Moon will appear to rise opposite to the setting Sun.

Eclipse timing

Along the immediate Pacific coast of central California, the Moon rises just a scant several minutes before the onset of the total eclipse. Yet, because of low altitude and bright evening twilight, local observers may not see much of the Moon at all until it begins to emerge from out of the Earths shadow.


So bundle up and see this. I'll be out behind the barn with hot toddies at about 6:15 my time.
Ruthxxx is offline  
Old 11-09-2003, 01:26 AM   #2  
Senior Member
 
Ms Spotdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Antelope, CA USA
Posts: 849

Default

Drat! It started raining cats 'n dogs right around 5:30 this evening and our chances of seeing the lunar eclipse went right down the storm drain!

Kel
Ms Spotdog is offline  
Old 11-09-2003, 12:51 PM   #3  
Owned by Dixie
 
L144S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Boston-North Shore
Posts: 2,464

Height: 5'4"

Default

Well All I can say is that it was INCREDABLE!

Watching the moon dissapear and trun read was a highlight for this scientist! i froze my you know what off but it was truly a sight to see.
Sorry you missed it kel.
-L
L144S is offline  
Old 11-09-2003, 07:48 PM   #4  
Slimwithin
 
LindaBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Langley, B.C., Canada
Posts: 1,603

Default

I saw much of it but it wasn't red or even orange here. Just the same ole silver moon.
LindaBC is offline  
 

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crazy Canuks Cluck Club -- 2008 meowee Support Groups 431 05-01-2008 05:44 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.