Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 01-04-2018, 07:56 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 170/166/120

Height: 5'1

Default Hi all!

Hello! This is my 3rd day on the forum and thought I might introduce myself!

I'm 30 (about to turn 31 end of Jan.) and am interested and motivated to lose about 50 lbs. I don't have a time frame in mind... and this is my first attempt at weight loss. I guess I'll have to watch my loss trends and figure out mini-goals along the way.

I'm currently just under 170 lbs, at at 5'1 that puts me in the obese category. I wear a size L or 12/14 US.

The numbers are not what bother me so much, it's actually how I feel. I hear a lot of body positive people say "be comfortable in the skin you're in"... but what if you are physically uncomfortable? I have pain and numbness in my arms from increased weight, and I can't comfortably fit in clothes. I put on most of my weight in by abdomen, and currently, I look as if I'm 6 months pregnant (I'm not.) I have trouble sleeping at night due to the arm-circulation issue, and the new skin-on-skin feeling in certain areas that were never there before.

I don't have a family history because I was adopted at birth, but in my research, I learned that people to keep the most fat in the areas that I do tend to have higher risk of heart disease. That's a huge motivating factor, as well. I got a 23 & me kit for Xmas and am excited to get that process started (it's the one that also has some health indicators).

Another huge motivator for me is that my husband and I are thinking about trying to have a baby in the next year or so. I'm not sure how much is recommended to lose before having a baby, but I know if I got pregnant now, I would have to put my weight loss goals on hold (and potentially have to start over with a larger number).