Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 08-01-2013, 05:27 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 169/164/160 lbs

Height: 5'6"

Default I dig this dancing carrot

(Just because I couldn't think of a better title.) Hi. This is my first time posting not only on this forum but on any weight loss forum. I've been listening to the audiobook version of The Power of Habit and it emphasizes the importance of a supportive community in changing habits. So I thought I'd give it a try, especially when I woke up this morning and weighed myself and I was 169. I ate a potato yesterday. It wasn't even a big potato.

Diabetes runs in my family. My grandmother had it and my mother had it. My uncle was recently diagnosed. I am determined not to get it. Back in my 30s, I hit an all-time high of 180 lbs and was diagnosed with PCOS. I read some PCOS forums on the Internet and found that a lot of people were on low-carb diets. So I cut bread out of my diet and effortlessly lost 20 lbs.

Well, it's gotten a bit harder since then. (I'm in my 40s now.) There were times I tried to convince myself that I'd be OK eating bread if it was whole-grain, and then I'd be back at 180. So now I seldom eat bread, but I have a weakness for all forms of potato, especially fried, and for chocolate. It all tends to make my weight inch up. So my intention is to cut out all potato and chocolate. What is going to make my life worth living now, I don't know. Sex? I'd better have lots of sex.

Thanks for listening.
Creativian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:03 PM   #2  

yum, potatoes and chocolate--just not together. :-)
Kaitie9399 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 10:59 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 188/185/164

Height: 5'8"