Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 09-20-2008, 12:00 AM   #1  
My Journey To Thin

S/C/G: 165/156/120

Height: 5'6"

Smile New Here

Hey Everyone!
I'm new to joining communities about dieting, but I've tried dieting in the past, and I've always been missing that element of encouragement, so I'm hoping being a part of a community where everyone is looking to loose pounds and gain confidence, I'll be able to stay on goal. Anyway, I'm sixteen, I've been struggling with my weight for about 9 years now, I remember looking in the mirror when I was about 7 and thinking, "My stomach is bigger than my friends" I've been struggling with eating disorders, awful body image issues, and a lack of any self-esteem or self-confidence. In the past I've done the South Beach Diet, I didn't follow it correctly, if you're familiar with it, I stayed in the Phase 1 level for 5 months, eventually eating only 1 small Cesar salad a day, I ended up in the hospital, and I've gained back all the weight. I wish I could tell you my weight so I could get a starting point, but I'm too scared to even step on a scale. I'm hoping to not diet, but to eat differently, looking at food differently. In the long run, I'd love to gain self-confidence, and not worry about how I looked, because I'm afraid that all my issues have lead to missing out on a lot of fun things I could be doing. I would say I would like to be this or this weight, but honestly, I don't know what weight I want to be, I just want to be HAPPY, that's my main goal. I'd like to look forward to shopping, look forward to summer and the beach and not worry about how I look and just have fun. I wouldn't say I'm overweight, I'm about 5'6 and my guess is I weigh around 155-157 pounds, at my lowest before I was in the hospital I was around 130, unfortunately, I looked in the mirror and all I saw was what I used to look like, even though my clothes were falling off me. I realize that loosing weight alone will not lead to