Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 03-17-2008, 11:30 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 195/190/135

Height: 5' 4.5"

Default Happy to be starting this long awaited journey!

I have never used a forum before. I have found useful info on various forums in the past, but never felt a need to join one until now. I really like all the info here and all the possible interaction and support that is available. I have struggled with my weight since the summer of my 8th grade year. Hmmm, sounds like hormones may have a hand here. I love to learn and usually spend a good 2 weeks reading a book about fitness, health or weight loss (often while eating cake) and then feel amped up enough to strike out on the newest concept to health.
But just like my first blog talks about, this time I feel like I'm finally done being fat. I want to feel good in my own skin and that the outside matches the personality that is always feeling hampered.
I know that many women struggle with self image issues, but it's kinda funny because in my own mind, I am much slimmer and fit than the person I see in mirrors and photos. I'd like to have those images match up better and have the energy to do all the things that pop into my head.
2006 was the most horrible year of my life, but it is also the reason that so many things have changed and transformed in my life. I am now on a journey and pursuit to find beauty. I have read so many books and know what I believe to be true about health and well being, so I guess my guidelines are as follows.
Eat low starch veggies
Whole grain carbs
lean meat
support body's ability to detox
move my body
I guess I'm trying not to stick to just one book's plan, because I always get all sidways on following it to the T instead of just living it out in the real world.
Instead of asking if what I'm eating or doing is on the ok list, my newest question is.... Will this lead me to beauty?

Looking forward to sharing the journey here on the forums and on my blog!