Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 02-08-2008, 03:33 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 252/226/165

Height: 5'10"

Cool I'm new and I want to make friends

Hi everybody,

So I'm new to posting, but I've been lurking for a while. From what I've seen, I can't imagine a more supportive group with better advice. Here's a little bit about me: I'm 21, and I recently moved to Portland, OR with my boyfriend, Mark. My weight has been a problem for me all my life, and that's probably all I have to say in order for every one of you to understand what I've been through. I weighed 200lbs by the time I got to high school, and after four years of starvation diets and binges, I weighed 242 lbs when I graduated. I went to college, thinking that I would be a whole new me. I think I was the only one surprised when I was still the same fat girl.

After three months living in the dorms, my friend Kristen and I started going to the gym together--a lot. She helped me get over my terrible fear of gyms, and by working out together we both stuck with an exercise routine. Over the course of a year and a half I lost 92 lbs, reaching my goal weight of 150 lbs at the end of summer 2006. I stayed there for a whopping eight days.

2007 was a year of heartbreak, fighting with my dad, and depression (which I've always had), and I gained back 67 lbs of what I had lost. Now I live with my boyfriend, who is usually supportive but sometimes clueless. Mostly he's just worried about my boobs shrinking I think! I've lost 11 lbs and I feel like I'm doing well. The second time around, once I got over the fact that yes, I regained weight and yes, it sucks not being skinny anymore, has been easier than the first go-round. I'm trying to look at my "failure" as a learning experience, and I KNOW that I'm a better person now than I was last year. And that's really my goal in life--to be better and happier each year than the year before.