Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 02-17-2007, 10:30 AM   #1  
Awareness rising

S/C/G: 213/208/175

Height: 5'6"

Default Brand New and Trying to Figure It Out

Yikes! I have never tried posting before and am not great at computer stuff. I am also ready to try for the zillionth time to set a weight loss goal and actually get there. I haven't done this since 1982, when I starved myself to 130 pounds and stayed there for about 2 minutes. I have always labeled my weight control efforts as being "on the wagon" or "off the wagon." Lately I have been saying that I can't even find the wagon. But I would like to discover a new way of labeling my experience that will help me be successful.

Every summer I go on a long-weekend vacation with my best friend from college. At some point during every weekend, she asks if I want to go on a hike. And every time, I am so overweight and out of shape, I have to say no. She hikes alone. This year, I want to be healthy enough to say yes to that hike. So I am looking for a forum that helps scaredy cats like me find the courage to exercise. Any ideas?
want2hike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 10:41 AM   #2  
Just Yr Everyday Chick

S/C/G: Lost 50 lbs, regained some

Height: 5'3"

You have come to the right place to get plenty of ideas!

Walking is a good start on an exercise program, and it's free! If it's too cold to walk outdoors where you live, try an indoor mall (but stay away from the food court ). Also, sometimes the Y has affordable memberships that include training on equipment and machines. And, there are women-only places like Curves and Contours Express--I used to be a Curves member, but now I go to the Y instead.