3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Ideal Protein Diet (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/ideal-protein-diet-236/)
-   -   Ketostix (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/ideal-protein-diet/263907-ketostix.html)

saintsbelle 05-30-2012 11:19 AM

What are Ketostix and how do they work?

Lately I've seen posts about using Ketostix... Well what are they and how do you use them. Sorry in advance for my ignorance Im a newbie...

Thanks in advance...

Kaypix 05-30-2012 11:22 AM

They test for Ketones in your pee, you pee on them and they turn colors, like a pregnancy test. :D Most simple explanation I could think of.

Kaypix 05-30-2012 11:23 AM

Oh, and you can get them from pharmacy places for like $10-$15 for a pack of ... 50? I think?

explore 05-30-2012 12:17 PM

I would like to know more about ketostix. Do you find it helps with you, or is it another tool to obsess over. What I love about the diet is the no counting of calories. I follow 100% protocol, and I know success will come. I don't need another thing to worry about. I would love to hear people's experiences.... pros and cons with using the ketostix.

Kaypix 05-30-2012 01:27 PM

I have used them, but I don't tend to, it's one more tool to obsess over (like weighing daily). If i drop from ketosis I'd be in a spiral of shame and discontent EVERY time I had some freak fluctuation. The stix don't always show, sometimes are light so hard to see, but are a good indicator if you've slipped up somehow without realizing. I have had TOM lightly spotting this whole flipping time (yay hormones) so as long as I'm spotting I know I'm in ketosis...tmi i know but hey, it's what I use.

krisnchris1 08-01-2012 10:27 AM

Ketostix