General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Old 01-06-2012, 02:02 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 365/278/150

Height: 5'7

Default College Girl trying to diet on dorm food! Help!

Hi there,

I'm wondering if any of you have some advice.. I'm a college student living in the dorms with over 150lbs to lose.. Problem is, its hard to stick to my diet with the dorm food. I've tried keeping my own food in my room, but being in college, without a car, and on a limited budget and schedule with no way to cook (other than a microwave) its hard to keep a stocked pantry and cook anything other than ramen noodles.

So over winter break, I figured out how to manage for Breakfast and Lunch, with oatmeal and salads. But for dinner, my options get more limited. I'm working with 1200-1300 calories a day, but need to find a healthy dinner option thats 500-600 calories, is filling and healthy enough to get me through a long night of studying as well.

Any advice? In terms of dorm food available to me, we have salad bars, of course, pizza, cereal bars, usually an entree of some sort (meat loaf, turkey, etc - varies on quality/health), and italian food. Basically typical cafeteria fare!

I was wondering if those of you with experience in this matter or know someone who does, have any suggestions for me. Thanks!
Judith6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 07:30 AM   #2  
Leveling Up

S/C/G: 200+/115/115

Height: 5'3"

I'm actually going to suggest my best friend's cooking blog to you. She's a graduate student and lost 90+ pounds while living in a dorm. I live at home so I can't really help you here but she's done amazing while being off at college, that's for sure!

http://rocketship-cooking.tumblr.com/
sontaikle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 02:21 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 133.4/123.2/115