General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 09-16-2012, 09:42 PM   #1  
Leveling Up

S/C/G: 200+/115/115

Height: 5'3"

Default Switching Careers?

Considering that the collective mind of 3FC is much smarter and practical than I could ever hope to be, I think you all would be perfect to come to for this piece of advice.

For those of you who don't know, I work as a teacher. I'm a special education teacher in a middle school. It's in a rough area—I knew what I was getting into when I accepted the position—but I'm passionate about making sure that children who are disadvantaged get every bit of education they deserve.

It's only my second year being a teacher and last year I wasn't all that happy with my position (but I did love working with the kids). I was doing pullouts and I was at the mercy of the classroom teachers most of the time. I advocated for my students and pushed to receive lessons in advance so I could, you know, prepare and make sure that I could tailor the lessons to the kids. Didn't happen most of the time.

So I worked hard and after an exhaustive job search secured a position in a school a bit closer to my house. Also, this one was appreciative of the technology skills I had and I would have actual access to a SMARTboard, go figure.

Well after the first week and a half of school I'm dreading going back already. It's not the children, even though they are difficult, but rather the expectations placed on the teachers. As a new teacher there are several things I just don't know yet, things that come from experience and that I have to learn. I generally have no problem when someone says "hey, next time do this." but I do have a problem when that feedback is given to me with the attitude that I am inferior for not knowing it in the first place.