Featherweights For those with just a few pounds, or trying to lose those last few pounds.

Old 10-25-2010, 05:55 AM   #1  
nearly there

S/C/G: 145/111/95

Height: 5"1"

Default My Job Keeps Me Thin; My Job Keeps Me Fat

As I've mentioned a few times in the past, I have a very physical active job. I work as a custodian at a marine biology lab. I won't mention the place by name but it's in Woods Hole Ma and it is famous. I hate the job and want to quit but with the economy so bad right now I don't dare to. Every day I haul out twenty bags of trash, sweep and mop miles of floor and vacuum acres of carpet. The vacuum I use is a foreign brand called a Euro-clean. We just call it a fanny pack because it looks just like a giant fanny pack and it is worn around the waist the same way. It weighs twelve pounds when empty and anywhere from fifteen to eighteen pounds when full. I wear it for two or three hours every day. I also clean eight multi-stalled bathrooms, sweep four stairwells, clean glass, strip and wax floors and move freight. I am in constant frantic motion all day. When I get home I'm so tired I just want to sit down and not move.

The good thing about the job is that even by the most conservative estimate, I burn a lot of calories at work. The bad thing is the job is so physical I get so hungry and drained that it's hard to keep the calories low enough to lose any weight. On weekends I eat anywhere from a third to a half less than I do on workdays.

Before I was in custodial I worked in housekeeping at the same lab which was just a bad, if not worse than what I do now. Cleaning dorm rooms is not like hotel housekeeping where, at worst, you clean sixteen rooms with a partner. I used to clean thirty rooms. That meant, among other things, I cleaned thirty bathrooms and made sixty beds every day.
Magrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 09:28 AM   #2  
Staying the Same

S/C/G: 160+/116-120/maintainer

Height: 5'5