Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Closed Thread

Old 08-25-2003, 06:13 PM   #1  

Angry best exercises to get "toned"

hey, i'm a college student, i'd love to be more toned, particularly in my upperthigh & "love handles" area. can someone suggest some good exercises to do? i usually do the elliptical machine, the bike & run but its not quite cutting it. THANKS
Old 08-26-2003, 09:13 AM   #2  

Hi Chrissy, getting toned as you call it is a function of fat loss through diet and exercise usually. You cannot..I repeat..spot reduce certain areas on your body. You can build muscle in certain areas of your body, but you cannot spot reduce fatty areas.

With that in mind, biking, running, and using the elliptical machine SHOULD cut it. You may not be putting in the correct amount of time using these devices. You may also be burning yourself out. Do you do all three in one day, or do you mix it up throughout the week?

I would focus on one exercise, for at least 25 mins a day, for 3-4 days. Get your body into a rhythm expecting to do this activity. Your diet is also important.

When you eat, what you eat, and how often you eat need to be looked at. How is your diet? How much water do you drink?

For exercises, you can focus on crunches, and deep knee bends (weighted or not). Have you looked at doing any weight exercises?
Old 08-27-2003, 01:11 AM   #3  
Work in Progress

Pilates is great for toning.
Old 09-03-2003, 02:38 PM   #4  

Definately would look into weight training. Muscle burns more calories and you will find yourself shrinking as it also takes up less space. (in other words the scale may not move but your clothes will be looser).

For a small amount of money you can buy some dumbbells and a video or two (I recommend the Firm). You WILL see results! Good luck!
Old 09-03-2003, 04:46 PM   #5  
Peace with body and soul

Hey I just wanted to say hi to one Iowagirl, from another one. *S*
Old 09-03-2003, 04:56 PM   #6