Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 12-21-2012, 03:00 AM   #1  
CrunchyGranola

S/C/G: 183/182/130

Height: 5'3"

Default Very new to exercise...

Hi! I'm new to weight loss and exercise. I've gotten a good handle on the diet portion of what to/not to do after meeting with a dietitian. But now I need to start moving. I have a few obstacles; I'm mom to 4 small kids, including one baby who nurses often. So going out to the gym really isn't an option. I do, however, have an upright stationary bike in my home.

So. What should I do, starting from sedentary? Is it effective enough to set a goal of 3x a week, 30 minutes each on the bike? I have no clue what/how much I should be doing of cardio, weights, anything. I'm limited in access, but I have the bike like I said, and resistance bands and a yoga mat.

Anybody have any tips?
PunkRockerMum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:33 AM   #2  

Height: 5'8.5"

Congrats on being off to a great start! I think you are wise to focus on what you have available and can do considering your circumstances. The resistance bands can be a great workout. I turn on music and work out with them. Also the bike sounds good. You could also check YouTube and find some exercises you can do right there at home when you can grab a few minutes.
Misti in Seattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:21 PM   #3  
CrunchyGranola

S/C/G: 183/182/130

Height: 5'3"

Thank you! I will have to check out some YouTube videos. I hadn't thought of that!
PunkRockerMum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:02 PM   #4  
Jessica

S/C/G: 153/132/fit and confident

Height: 5'8"