Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 03-03-2010, 11:30 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 250/237/140

Height: 5'7

Question Cardio work out routine?

Ok...so first off...so far this week I have lost 5.4 lbs just by watching what I am eating, NOT drinking any soda...just water, and taking a brisk walk in the evening. Today is going to be the first time (ever) going to a gym to work out. I am getting a yearly pass to the local community center that has a gym. I am wanting to do 3 days cardio and 2 days strength training.

My question is what is a good cardio routine, as far as what machines, how long on each, or if I should just do one machine? I am new to this but totally dedicated to changing my life. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

Steph

SW 214.4
CW 208.8
GW 150
smccaleb06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:51 AM   #2  
Let's salsa!

S/C/G: 208/160/158 for now

Height: 5'9"

Many times I saw other posters to recommend to do the form of cardio that you enjoy most because then you are most likely to stick with it. I happen to agree with this.
Why don't try the individual cardio machines at your gym and if you decide that the elliptical is the one you really enjoy, work out on the elliptical. If it's the treadmill, use the treadmill. And so on.
But cardio does not need to be only the in the form of a solitary. If your gym has Zumba or Spinning classes, I would encourage you to try those, both provide good cardio workouts.
Tomato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:53 AM   #3  

Height: 5'2''