Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 01-28-2009, 01:31 PM   #1  

Default C25K success stories??

sup laaaadies?!

i just finished my W3D2 run, and one thing i was thinking as i pounded the pavement is that id really like to see this practice turn into a regular running schedule for me. i think itd be cool to one day run 2 or 3 miles 3 or 4 times a week. easy breezy, right?!

i was wondering if there is anyone out there who was a non-runner when they started C25K, but after completing the program has kept running or incorporated longer "real" (and by real i do mean 2-3 miles ha) runs into their routine.

partypantalones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 01:43 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 240/ticker/140

Height: 5'4"

OOOH OOOH! *raises hand*

I'm a C25K graduate. I do a 3-3.5 mile run 3 times a week. I'm thinking now that maybe I should do a 2.5-3 mile run twice a week at a faster pace and try to stretch out to 4-5 miles eventually at an easier pace. Like to do real tempo runs and long runs like a real runner.

But yeah, I've always HATED running. Even when I was a kid. I was the person in gym class that would call out sick on physical fitness day when we had to run the mile. By high school I would stop between laps and have a cigarette behind the dumpster.

I started couch to 5K because I thought it would be like a mental thing, as in "if I can conquer running, I can conquer anything." At first I HATED it. I couldn't run 30 seconds without feeling like I was going to die. But by the time I finished the 9 weeks, I thought, hey...I can do this.

Now I run three times a week and enjoy every minute of it. Well maybe except the last three or four. I try to go one lap (quarter mile) more than the most I feel I can do. I also cross train with the elliptical or arc machine, do some lifting and take a kickboxing class to keep all my muscles developed.