Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 04-23-2012, 05:11 PM   #1  

Default Don't know what to do

So, I've been battling depression for a few years now. It's one of those things that is always in the background. Sometimes it's completely debilitating, which is how I've been feeling the past 6 months, at least. I haven't been on antidepressants for over a year because I gained a ton of weight and felt like an emotional zombie. I was on Wellbutrin before that and it did help a bit with energy, but then I couldn't sleep and I was having serious rage issues. I would just blow up about the most minor thing.

My depression is to the point where I don't want to do anything. I sleep most of the day and I barely want to move. Like I literally won't move for hours, even if I have to pee, I just hold it until I absolutely have to get up. I have to exercise to lose weight, dieting just isn't cutting it for me. I also know exercise will make me feel better and happier, but I have no motivation whatsoever.

I've also tried herbal supplements like St. John's Wort, Maca, and 5-HTP. They didn't do anything except make me have that rage again. I feel like I'm wasting away. I don't feel particularly sad, I just feel kind of empty, like I don't care about anything.
Euphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:19 PM   #2  
Changing for the better

S/C/G: 268/257/150

Height: 5'8"

I would seek out some therapy. If the meds bother you that much sometimes therapy is the best way to go. :*hugs* I know the feeling!
TiffNeedsChange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 05:29 PM   #3