Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 04-09-2007, 09:08 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 176/176/140

Height: 5'4

Default Where did my motivation go?

Seven years ago I graduated from university and started a new job. I joined weight watchers and lost 20 pounds. I was absolutely committed to it, even driving to a neighbouring town to attend meetings as there was nothing local. Two years later I was diagnosed with depression and gained 30 pounds in two years. I've tried Jenny Craig, South Beach, Slim Fast, gone to a dietician and gone back to Weight Watchers. But deep down I don't have the drive that I did before. I managed to switch antidepressants, I don't think I could go without them. My weight has finally plateaued but I just can't manage to lose more that 5 pounds.

Really I think I miss that determination I had before when I lost 20 pounds. Not sure if the antidepressant or just me to blame. Carrying this extra weight is so hard on the body and I want to lose the weight but how to I get back my motivation/determination?
silverstar77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 12:21 AM   #2  
Starting Again

S/C/G: 202/163/120

Height: 5'1"